MJBI is now Gateway Center for Israel ›

Jewish Feasts & Holidays

By Tara Kieschnick, MJBI Media and Communications Manager
‹ Back to Blog Home
Posted in Jewish HolidaysZealous Magazine on July 28, 2017

When the children of Israel were delivered out of Egyptian slavery, God instituted special feasts, or “appointed times” throughout the agricultural year to celebrate, remember, repent, and give thanks. The Jewish calendar is based on these feasts which are set on a lunar cycle. It was well established by the time of the Babylonian captivity and predates by centuries the universally-accepted solar-based Gregorian (or civil) calendar finalized in the 1500’s. Because the Jewish calendar is “shorter” in days than the Gregorian, the feast dates change from year-to-year on commonly used western calendars.

There are seven “appointed feasts” mentioned in the Torah. The first are in the autumn, referred to as the High Holidays, and include the Feast of Trumpets (Rosh HaShana), Day of Atonement (Yom Kippur), and Feast of Booths (Sukkot). The spring begins with Passover (Pesach), including the Feast of Unleavened Bread and First Fruits, and ends with the Feast of Weeks (Shavuot or Pentecost). The Lord also set aside the seventh day, or Sabbath, of each week as a holy, designated day of rest. Over the years, other minor holidays were add- ed to commemorate important events in the Jewish calendar. These include Purim in early spring, Tisha B’Av in the summer, Simchat Torah in the fall, and Hanukkah in the winter.

The Jewish feasts are ripe with prophetic meaning and fulfillment by Yeshua. Further study and/or observance of these “forever statutes” can bring great dimension and abundant life to a “grafted in” believer. For more information on the scriptural basis, traditions, and recipes pertaining to the Jewish Feasts, please go to the “Jewish Holidays” section of our website.